The history of form

A lot of things happened in Germany, Europe and the world within the past 60 years - in society, politics, economy and technology and therefore in design, too. form magazine is a contemporary witness of these changes, while being an influencer at the same time. The change is made visible in in the more than 250 issues of the design magazine. What started off as an idea of four creative people in 1957, is today a forum with many loyal subscribers, which offers orientation, sets key topics and stimulates the design discourse.


1957

Founded as “International Revue” by Jupp Ernst, Willem Sandberg, Curt Schweicher and Wilhelm Wagenfeld. Form magazine starts as a wide-ranging culture magazine not only dealing with art, architecture, and industrial design but also with ballet, music, poetry, and designer manifestos.

1962

Karlheinz Krug becomes the new editor. In his function as editor in chief (until 1998) and co-publisher (until 2001) the industrial designer has a defining impact on the magazines development and appearance.

1966

The introduction of the new subtitle “Zeitschrift für Gestaltung” (“design magazine”) manifests a refocusing of the magazine initiated by Karlheinz Krug. Furthermore, an international advisory board is introduced. Among others, members are Walter Gropius, Marcel Breuer, Sigfried Giedion, Johannes Itten, Richard Buckminster Fuller, and Max Bill.

1974

Bertelsmann Publishing acquires Westdeutscher Verlag (Western German Publishing). The editor in chief Karlheinz Krug, form graphic designer Hanswerner Klein and bookseller and publisher Hans Otto Döring unhinge the magazine from the sales package. They found form publishing and continue publishing the magazine on their own.

1994

Co-publisher Alex Buck and Manager Matthias Vogt resume the management of form publishing. In Frankfurt, journalist Fabian Wurm and graphic designer Andres Liedtke have a defining influence on the magazine until 1998. In cooperation with the “Büro für Gestaltung (“Design Office”) Offenbach, the relaunch of the magazine takes place during that time as well. form publishing starts to release designer monographs and publication series like “Designer Profiles”, “Design Classics”, “form theory”, and “form discourse”.

1997

Mathias Wollin designs the all-new form website that goes online for the first time. Internationally renowned designers like Stefan Sagmeister, Jonathan Barnbrook, Peter Saville, Gunter Rambow, or Mike Meiré design the cover of form magazine.

1999

After more than 25 years, Karlheinz Krug withdraws from his duties within the editorial department but continues his work as co-publisher until 2001. To follow in his footsteps as the new editor in chief is Petra Schmidt. form magazine introduces the new subtitle “The European Design Magazine” and from now on is published bilingually in German and English.

2002

Belonging to Springer Science and Business Media, Birkhäuser Publishing takes over form magazine. In consequence, the editorial department relocates their headquarters to Neu-Isenburg Gravenbruch.

2005

The magazine focuses on the different stages of the design process. The new subtitle “Making of Design” puts emphasis on this new orientation. In addition to the new content concept, the agency ade hauser lacour from Frankfurt fundamentally overhauls the layout of the magazine and the website.

2006

Gerrit Terstiege, a member of the form staff since 1997, becomes the new editor in chief.

2007

form celebrates its 50-year anniversary and relocates its office to the Birkhäuser publishing headquarters in Basel, Switzerland. The archive of issues René Spitz constructed for his postdoctoral lecture qualification goes online. It contains more than 20000 pages.

2010

The Spanish publishing house Actar acquires the sections architecture and design of the Birkhäuser Publishing. form magazine is part of this acquisition.

2011

The longtime editor in chief and publisher Karlheinz Krug passes away at the age of 77.

2012

Birkhäuser Publishing declares bankruptcy. In consequence, Walter de Gruyter GmbH & Co. KG Berlin acquires the book publishing rights, Peter Wesner acquires the rights of form publishing and form magazine. Stephan Ott becomes the new editor in chief. Form magazine is published by form publishing GmbH & Co. KG, Frankfurt.

2013

Designers Heimann and Schwantes from Berlin realize the relaunch of form. The magazine is visually and content wise adapted to the demands and changes of the contemporary design discourse. At the same time the all new website goes online.

Shop

Nº 274
Identity

form Design Magazine


Aws4 request&x amz signedheaders=host&x amz signature=9b0caa0dc5efa1b12bbbde921abd29058cf86c24789307912281e55c0fbbaa26 Order now
Form1


Form017


Form067


Form168


Form243


Form250


Contact

Verlag form GmbH & Co. KG
Wildunger Straße 8
60487 Frankfurt am Main
Germany

T +49 69 153 269 430
F +49 69 153 269 431
form@form.de

Subscription Service

Questions to your subscription invoice, to our subscription program or a change of address?

T +49 69 153 269 438
F +49 69 153 269 439
leserservice@form.de

Newsletter

Sign up now and get access to exclusive ticket draws, monthly news about the magazine as well as information on exciting design events and publications.

Sign up

Design Magazine
Established 1957

 

 
form.de

Die Geschichte
der Zeitschrift form

In den vergangenen 60 Jahren ist viel passiert in Deutschland, Europa und der Welt – in Gesellschaft, Politik, Wirtschaft und Technik, aber damit auch in allen Designdisziplinen. Die form ist Zeitzeuge dieser Veränderungen und hat sie gleichzeitig mitgeprägt. Das alles spiegelt sich in den nun mehr als 250 Ausgaben der Designzeitschrift wieder. Was 1957 als Idee von vier Kreativen begann, ist heute ein Forum mit treuen Abonnenten, das für Orientierung sorgt, Themen setzt und den Design-Diskurs stimuliert.


1957

Gründung als „Internationale Revue“ durch Jupp Ernst, Willem Sandberg, Curt Schweicher und Wilhelm Wagenfeld. form startet als breitgefächerte Kulturzeitschrift, die nicht nur Kunst, Architektur und industrielle Formgebung, sondern auch Ballett, Musik, Gedichte und gestalterische Manifeste bespricht und veröffentlicht.

1962

Karlheinz Krug wird neuer Schriftleiter. In seiner Funktion als Chefredakteur (bis 1998) und Mitherausgeber (bis 2001) prägt der ausgebildete Industriedesigner maßgeblich den Auftritt des Magazins.

1966

Mit dem Untertitel „Zeitschrift für Gestaltung“ manifestiert sich eine Neuausrichtung des Magazins, die Karlheinz Krug in Gang gesetzt hatte. Zudem wird ein internationaler Beirat vorgestellt, dem unter anderem Walter Gropius, Marcel Breuer, Sigfried Giedion, Johannes Itten, Richard Buckminster Fuller und Max Bill angehören.

1974

Bertelsmann kauft den Westdeutschen Verlag auf. Chefredakteur Karlheinz Krug, form-Grafiker Hanswerner Klein und der Verlagskaufmann Hans Otto Döring lösen die Zeitschrift aus dem bereits geschnürten Verkaufspaket heraus. Sie gründen den Verlag form und führen die Zeitschrift fortan in Eigenregie weiter.

1994

Alex Buck, Mitherausgeber neben Karlheinz Krug, und Matthias Vogt, Geschäftsführer, übernehmen die Leitung des Verlag form. In Frakfurt prägen der Redakteur Fabian Wurm und der Grafiker Andreas Liedtke bis 1998 die form. In diese Zeit fällt auch der in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Offenbacher „Büro für Gestaltung“ realisierte Relaunch. Der Verlag form beginnt Designer-Monografien und Publikationsreihen wie „Designer Profile“, „Design Klassiker“, „form Theorie“ und „form Diskurs“ zu veröffentlichen.

1997

Die erste, von Mathias Wollin gestaltete form–Website geht in diesem Jahr erstmals online. International renommierte Designer wie Stefan Sagmeister, Jonathan Barnbrook, Peter Saville, Gunter Rambow oder Mike Meiré entwerfen die Titelseiten der form.

1999

Karlheinz Krug zieht sich nach über 25 Jahren Mitarbeit aus der Redaktion zurück und fungiert bis 2001 weiterhin als Mitherausgeber. Seine Nachfolge in der Position als Chefredakteur tritt Petra Schmidt an. Die „Zeitschrift für Gestaltung“ trägt nun den Untertitel „The European Design Magazine“ und erscheint zweisprachig auf Deutsch und Englisch.

2002

Der zum Springer Science und Business Media gehörende Birkhäuser Verlag übernimmt die Zeitschrift form. In der Folge verlegt die Redaktion ihren Sitz nach Neu–Isenburg Gravenbruch.

2005

Das Magazin richtet den Fokus auf die verschiedenen Stadien des Gestaltungsprozesses, was auch der neue Untertitel „Making of Design“ deutlich macht. Zusätzlich werden Layout von Heft und Webseite von der Frankfurter Agentur ade hauser lacour grundlegend überarbeitet.

2006

Gerrit Terstiege, der seit 1997 bei der form tätig ist, wird neuer Chefredakteur.

2007

In diesem Jahr feiert die form ihr 50–jähriges Bestehen und zieht nach Basel in die Zentrale des Birkhäuser Verlags. Das Heftarchiv, von René Spitz im Rahmen seines Habilitationsvorhabens erstellt, wird mit mehr als 20 000 Seiten online gestellt.

2010

Der spanische Verlag Actar kauft die Bereiche Architektur und Design des Birkhäuser Verlags und damit auch die form.

2011

Der langjährige Chefredakteur und Herausgeber Karlheinz Krug stirbt im Alter von 77 Jahren.

2012

Konkurs des Schweizer Birkhäuser Verlags. In der Folge erwirbt die Buchverlagsrechte die Walter de Gruyter GmbH & Co. KG, Berlin, Peter Wesner erwirbt die Rechte an der Zeitschrift und am Verlag form. Die inhaltliche Ausrichtung und die Leitung des Redaktionsteams übernimmt der neue Chefredakteur Stephan Ott. Die form erscheint jetzt im Verlag form GmbH & Co. KG, Frankfurt am Main.

2013

Die Berliner Designer Heimann und Schwantes realisieren den Relaunch der form. Das Magazin wird visuell und inhaltlich den Anforderungen und Veränderungen des zeitgenössischen Designdiskurses angepasst. Zum gleichen Zeitpunkt geht auch die neu entworfene Webseite online.

Shop

Nº 273
Designing Protest

form Design Magazine


Grid one form273 cover 1200 Jetzt bestellen
Form1


Form017


Form067


Form168


Form243


Form250